Logo

Events

Watch the Webinar: Afghanistan After the West's Withdrawal

Watch the Webinar: Afghanistan After the West's Withdrawal

10:20 New York · 11:20 Buenos Aires · 15:20 London · 16:20 Paris · 23:20 Tokyo · 00:20 Sydney

The Brenthurst Foundation Director, Dr Greg Mills, in conversation with Rory Stewart, Former Secretary of State for International Development of the United Kingdom and Yale University Fellow, and Dr David Kilcullen, former adviser to Secretary Condoleezza Rice and General David Petraeus.

Between 2001 and 2019, two million men and women from abroad served in Afghanistan, and more than $2 trillion was expended, an extraordinary, once-in-a-generation commitment of resources to a poor country, a staggering opportunity cost.

The Western withdrawal from Afghanistan, set to be complete by September 11 2021, has gone hand-in-hand with a narrative of defeat, repeated so often it's in danger of becoming a self-fulfilling prophecy, one damaging to Western moral authority and the value of its alliance.

Join Dr Greg Mills in conversation with Rory Stewart, Former Secretary of State for International Development of the United Kingdom and Yale University Fellow, and Dr David Kilcullen, author, strategist, and counterinsurgency expert, as they discuss what the future might hold for the people of Afghanistan.


Subscribe to our newsletter


Copyright © 2022 The Brenthurst Foundation • Legal documents (privacy, PAIA, POPIA, cookies)Website by Entle