Logo

Events

SAIIA Western Cape AGM and Presentation by Greg Mills

SAIIA Western Cape AGM and Presentation by Greg Mills

07:34 New York · 08:34 Buenos Aires · 12:34 London · 13:34 Paris · 20:34 Tokyo · 22:34 Sydney

South Africa

Venue: The Athenaeum, Cape Town Date: Tuesday, 31 October 2023 Time: 5pm – 7:30pm (SAST)

Dr Greg Mills, Director of the Brenthurst Foundation, will present the thesis of his new book: Rich State, Poor State: Why Some Countries Succeed and Others Fail.**
Mr John Steenhuisen, leader of the DA, will introduce Dr Mills’ book.


Why do some states thrive, grow their economies, and uplift their people, while others, facing similar challenges, slide into low growth, social dysfunction, and failure? After decades of work in Africa, Latin America, Asia, Europe and the Middle East, Greg Mills seeks to provide answers. 

On each continent, Dr Mills has interrogated the how and why. How did Botswana go from being one of the least developed and poorest nations at independence to enjoying the highest rate of per capita growth of any country in the world? Why has South Africa failed to attain similar heights? How did the Baltic states achieve reforms that have positioned them among the best-performing economies in Europe? How did Vietnam overcome a traumatic past in favour of a rapid and positive development transformation? Why is Mexico the only large developing economy that competes with China in manufacturing?


Subscribe to our newsletter